19 Comments

Viv’s View nominated for Liebster Blog Award

I’m very happy, and also a wee bit proud to announce that *drum roll* Viv’s View has been nominated for the Liebster Blog Award by Esengas Voice (first award nomination ever). So first and foremost thank you for the nomination. Make sure to stop by her blog, that delights with a wide variety of great photos, quotes and articles! And now it’s time to get to know the person behind Viv’s View a bit better…

With accepting the award there are certain rules to be followed:
1. Thank the person who nominated you
2. Answer the following 11 questions
3. Nominate 11 bloggers for the Liebster Blog Award and let them know they have been nominated. That’s it.

1. The book that changed your life: Siddharta

I’m not sure I could honestly say there’s a certain book that did something as profound as really changing my life. However, there have been a few books that have had an impact on my life, so I guess to a certain extent they changed my life. One of them is ‘Siddharta’ by Herman Hesse.

I first read ‘Siddharta’ after my mum gave it to me as a present on the day of a total solar eclipse over Germany. I’ve reread it several times and the beautiful language and story have always managed to capture and inspire me. I even wrote a short essay on the book for a competition, which then got published and gave me new motivation that writing is actually something I should further pursue.

2. Your favourite author/writer: The slightly wonderfully crazy ones

I’m just going to ignore that it’s a singular: Oscar Wilde, Stephen Fry and Haruki Murakami are my favourites.

3. Your pet and its name: Hoppetyhop

They’re not there yet, but hopefully starting around Christmas I will share my house not only with three housemates but also with wee little Frank and Harvey to baby bunnys saved from the cooking pot of my mums uncle.

4. The craziest thing you have done:  a very special photo shooting in the Gobi desert

Some people might say, that I’ve done quite a lot of crazy things. Some, well actually a lot (most of my friends) might even say I am slightly crazy. I therefore decided to tell you about one of the more recent crazy. Or maybe you find it utterly normal? Who knows…

This year I decided to fulfill a travel dream I’ve had for quite some time: visiting Mongolia. I did not really plan much, except for wanting to buy a Morin Khuur, possibly seeing the desert and a few other things. So one day after I arrived I found myself on a bumpy bus ride to the Gobi desert with four people I had pretty much just met.

One of my newfound travel companions was a photographer. And thus it came that the two Germans I met a few days earlier on the train from Beijing to Ulan-Bator and I were laying on a deserted dune in the Gobi desert (sorry I couldn’t resist the wordplay) to be photographed by the Ruben, the French photographer for his new exhibition. Oh, and we were butt-naked.

5. Your best friend: 

pen & paper (they listen to whatever I have to say and help me send messages of friendship and love around the world to my wonderful friends and family.

6. A childhood prank: Food Thief

I was a quite tame child, more sassy or cheeky than actually playing pranks. But one thing I continuously and passionately did was steal the cheese or cold cut from my parents’ bread. As soon as they would turn their head back to their dinner plate there would only be an empty slice of bread left (Germans eat bread with cheese, cold cut etc. for dinner) I would then happily say a German phrase that can be translated along the lines of: in times of need the farmer enjoys no bread just meat.

7. Favourite musician: Horsehead fiddle!

Currently Galsan (My Morin Khuur Teacher).

8. A place you would love to visit: Buddhist Journey

One place of many, that I’d like to visit the Buddhist Jokhang Monastery in Shimla, in India.

9. If you had just 5 minutes left to live what is the one thing you would do? The usual stuff…

Hm, five minutes is not very long. I’d try to come up with a really funny message for my family and friends to make them feel better. Or if we were all doomed because the world is finally imploding, I guess I would listen to some good music and try to fall asleep.

10. Favourite sport: Karate chop!

Does eating count as a sport? I guess not, well then Scuba Diving and Kung Fu.

11. How do you define love? Defining the indefinable? Nope.

This might be a bit cliché but I really do think love is indefinable. There are so many different kinds of loves and most of them don’t fit any box, so I really don’t think there’s one definition that gets it all.
And my nominees are *another drum roll*:

*http://crazytraintotinkytown.com

*http://yousufbawany.wordpress.com

* http://skrybe.wordpress.com

* http://dontbankonit.wordpress.com

* http://srdjanapajevic.wordpress.com

* http://openseyes.wordpress.com

* http://sevenleggedexpressjourney.wordpress.com

* http://luckydiplife.wordpress.com

* http://trishfalin.wordpress.com

* http://iaggelidaki.wordpress.com

* http://aljaja.wordpress.com

19 comments on “Viv’s View nominated for Liebster Blog Award

  1. Congratulations!! Loved the desert photo shoot story! Very cool!

  2. Thanks 😀 was a lot of fun, and hey one should always support the arts!

  3. […] that i owe you a Beautiful Blogger Award, One Lovely Blog Award, another One Lovely Blog Award, Liebster Blog Award, Reader Appreciation Award and a Wonderful Team Member Readership […]

  4. Congrats on your award girl! And of course thanks for the nomination! 😀

  5. well done you, nice to know you and thank you for the nomination

  6. Thank you for bestowing this honor on me. Really appreciate the gesture! 🙂

  7. I truly enjoyed to find more about you “through” the questions of this award. 🙂

  8. […] over at Viv’s View nominated me for the Liebster Blog Award sometime last year, but some pressing commitments […]

  9. I like your answer to the question #9. It is so thoughtful.

    Thanks for nominating us for this award. We finally officially accepted it 🙂

    http://sevenleggedexpressjourney.wordpress.com/2013/06/11/liebster-award-2/

    Pedo Koneko

What do YOU think?

