Leave a comment

Trans-Siberian Diary – Day Four

Tanking up at one of the many stops between Ulan-Ude and Moscow.

Tanking up at one of the many stops between Ulan-Ude and Moscow.

September 27th 2012 some time around 08:30? Who knows we crossed so many timezones…

I woke up at 7.00 to the reassuring rattling of the train and the relative silence of approximately 50 other people sleeping soundly in their bunk beds in wagon 15. I love taking sleeper trains, I usually sleep wonderfully and wake up with the glorious sensation of having been on the road all night and now opening my eyes to see a new place from when I closed my eyes last night.

 

I woke up at 7.00 a.m. to the reassuring rattling of the train and the relative silence of approximately 50 other people sleeping soundly in their bunk beds in carriage No. 15. I love taking sleeper trains, I usually sleep wonderfully and wake up with the glorious sensation of having been on the road all night and now opening my eyes to see a new place from when I closed my eyes last night.

 

Yesterday was great! The young woman riding the train with me has revealed herself to not only speak very good English but also to be a fantastic travel companion. We giggled most of the afternoon about this and that, chatting about lots of different mundane to deep topics. She also fulfilled one of my points of my Ulan-Ude whish list: to meet a Shaman. L.’s Grandma and mother have had the ‘third eye’ and she is now starting a shaman apprenticeship as well. She asks me for my e-mail address so she can stay in touch and practice her English. I obviously say yes, who wouldn’t want a Shaman pen pal?! Especially such a lovely one.

 

The closer we get to Moscow the worse the weather gets, which makes the train all the cosier. It’s warm inside and thanks to the two young train officers in our carriage always clean.

 

The grandpa who travelled with us left yesterday in Omsk and after a few hours of an elderly lady who slept most of the time we have now been joined by a middle aged dad with his teenage on. They’re staying on till Moscow. They both seem nice and chatted a bit with L. I of course couldn’t join due to my lack of Russian.

 

Though I woke up at 7.00 a.m. and worked for a few hours, had breakfast and lunch it’s still just 10.50 because we passed another time zone. This makes me feel as if I’ve managed to do lots of stuff in no time at all (which is kind of true), I consider the possibility of having been transformed into a super-academic because of all the extra chemistry in the instant noodle soups. Okay, probably it’s really just the timezone. I do seriously think about taking the train another time to finish my dissertation though, the only thing keeping me from this at the moment is the constant diet of Doshirak (instant noodlesoup).

 

In the morning I have instant maple nut oat meal to which I add dried apricots and daily less fresh bananas –all in all quite yummy. For lunch and dinner I eat presumably different flavoured Doshirak (though I brought two instant mashed potatoe packs as well to mix it up a bit, same flavour different texture). Daily drier bread accompanies this hand in hand with radishes that also daily deteriorate in their freshness and a few cucumbers. Some chocolate and crisps finish the ‘feast’. With that lots and lots of tea that I constantly fill up at the free Samovar containing hot water. Against all prejudices nobody in our carriage has opened a single bottle of booze. I’m almost a bit disappointed.

Tomorrow we’re getting to Moscow. Though I’m looking forward to have a long hot shower, eat fresh food and see family and friends I still enjoy the journey and am sad that today is the last full day on the trans-siberian railway…

 

 

 

What do YOU think?

